BRAND TOUCHPOINTS

Women consumers

Posted in Uncategorized by Abhinaya Chandrasekhar on August 10, 2009

The toughest subject that I have studied till date is consumer behavior. The subject holds prime importance in my career and I am still stumped. One particular lecture that keeps coming back to me is “women as consumers.” Apparently women as consumers have a very low decision making capability and I didn’t quite agree with that.

Yesterday, I got the chance to put that to test practically. I took my mother shopping at a clearance sale outlet for domestic clothing.

Observations:

She picked 5 sarees seeking my constant approval.

The next process of rejection began by discarding everything that merely sounded a little expensive.

And then, her mind plays twenty-questions looking for answers within.

• Am I spending too much?

• Is this required?

• Is it expensive?

• Will the colors suit me?

• Is the material ok? … and more

Assurance, assurance and re-assurance. That’s what they all want. She wanted me to tell her that her choices are perfect and she needs them. At first, I refused to reply and asked her to take her own decisions. She was stuck and couldn’t move forward. Subtly, I added, “I think they look good.” That did it. Five minutes from then, we were paying the bill.

Many people argue that the above process is common among the middle-aged and not the young crowd. I was actually privy to the following conversation.

A young girl, aged 22 / 23 at Planet Sports on the phone: “Should I buy this pair of tracks? Do you think I really need it? I don’t know… It sounds too expensive. I know I need it but do you think I can do without it?” She left the store. Came back in half hour and bought the pair of tracks!

Tagged with:

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Karthick said, on August 10, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    The author of the post is just about as guilty as the consumer she was observing.

  2. Suraj said, on August 10, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    From personal experience, I would have to agree to the fact that women have a low decision making capability (in a shopping scenario), but I don’t think money is one of the variables contributing to it. May be your sample set was skewed in favor of women who cared about money!

  3. Abhinaya Chandrasekhar said, on August 10, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    @Suraj: You are right. I was looking at a price conscious segment.

  4. Mandira said, on August 11, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    this reminds me of our CB class…awww and i think that the women today are changing and getting out of this habit..its more like..”i will wear what i want and not what others want to see me wear! i like it..and so i bought it!!”
    its then the parents and the Bf’s who blabber… and make a fuss…but thats a diff story altogether..
    gud effort abhi..
    love ya
    Mandy

  5. arun said, on August 11, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    abhi… i kno i may be completely wrong but my point of view is more philosophical, what i mean to say is female of every species be it animal kingdom, birds etc have been nurtured so that they have to think every1 else b4 her decision, so is the case with women, that breakfree attitude is still in the evolution part and may be it ll take few more decades, they still feel that every step they take will have some or other effect on “their world”
    gud observation
    arun

  6. Sangeet said, on August 12, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Nice write up. I completely agree with your observation.

  7. Puja said, on August 12, 2009 at 9:10 am

    hi dere,

    i agree wid u that women as consumers have a strong decision making capability….
    women,i feel, know exactly what they want.but when they work under certain boundary conditions …like u mentioned (money etc)then they do think of the consequences of their decision before, thus leading to a delay in decision making.they do not have that carefree attitude because of which they would take snap decisions and think of the consequences later…

  8. Aruns said, on August 13, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Hey nice observation..

    And If u really want to see the decision making process among women then try out a ice cream parlour or a pastry outlet..

    Thats where u hardly find decisions based on monetary terms..


Leave a Reply

